Thursday, March 1, 2012

The Rolling Stones Exile on Main Street

Exile on Main Street

Exile on Main St. is the tenth British and 12th American studio album by English rock band The Rolling Stones. Released as a double LP in May 1972, it draws on many genres including rock and roll, blues, soul, R&B, gospel and country. The release of Exile on Main St. met with mixed reviews, but it is now generally regarded as the band's best album. In 2003, the album was ranked 7th on Rolling Stone magazine's list of the 500 greatest albums of all time, the highest a Rolling Stones album ranked on the list.

A remastered version of the album was released in Europe on 17 May 2010 and in the United States on 18 May 2010, featuring 10 new tracks, including "Plundered My Soul", "Dancing in the Light", "Following the River" and "Pass the Wine" as well as alternative versions of "Soul Survivor" and "Loving Cup"

Exile on Main St. was written and recorded between 1968 and 1972. Mick Jagger said "After we got out of our contract with Allen Klein, we didn't want to give him [those earlier tracks]," as they were forced to do with Brown Sugar" and "Wild Horses" from Sticky Fingers. Many tracks were recorded between 1969 and 1971 at Olympic Studios and Jagger's Stargroves country house in England during sessions for Sticky Fingers.

By the spring of 1971 the Rolling Stones owed more in taxes than they could pay and left Britain before the government could seize their assets. Mick Jagger settled in Paris with his new bride Bianca, and guitarist Keith Richards rented a villa, Nellcôte, in Villefranche-sur-Mer, near Nice. The other members settled the south of France. Because a suitable recording studio was relocatable in the south France that would be suitable to record more tracks to complete the next album, Richards' basement at Nellcôte became a makeshift studio to record using the band's mobile recording truck

Side one
No. Title Length
1. "Rocks Off" 4:31
2. "Rip This Joint" 2:22
3. "Shake Your Hips" (Slim Harpo) 2:59
4. "Casino Boogie" 3:33
5. "Tumbling Dice" 3:45
Side two
No. Title Length
6. "Sweet Virginia" 4:27
7. "Torn and Frayed" 4:17
8. "Sweet Black Angel" 2:54
9. "Loving Cup" 4:25
Side three
No. Title Length
10. "Happy" 3:04
11. "Turd on the Run" 2:36
12. "Ventilator Blues" (Jagger/Richards/Mick Taylor) 3:24
13. "I Just Want to See His Face" 2:52
14. "Let It Loose" 5:16
Side four
No. Title Length
15. "All Down the Line" 3:49
16. "Stop Breaking Down" (Robert Johnson) 4:34
17. "Shine a Light" 4:14
18. "Soul Survivor" 3:49
2010 bonus disc
No. Title Length
1. "Pass the Wine (Sophia Loren)" 4:54
2. "Plundered My Soul" 3:59
3. "I'm Not Signifying" 3:55
4. "Following the River" 4:52
5. "Dancing in the Light" 4:21
6. "So Divine (Aladdin Story)" 4:32
7. "Loving Cup" (Alternate take) 5:26
8. "Soul Survivor" (Alternate take) 3:59
9. "Good Time Women" 3:21
10. "Title 5" 1:47
11. "All Down the Line" (Alternate take, Japanese Bonus Track) 4:09


* Mick Jagger — lead vocals, harmonica, guitar on "Tumbling Dice" and "Stop Breaking Down," percussion
* Keith Richards — guitars, backing vocals, lead vocals on "Happy" and "Soul Survivor," piano on "I Just Want to See His Face," bass guitar on "Casino Boogie," "Happy" and "Soul Survivor"
* Mick Taylor — guitars, slide guitar, backing vocals, bass guitar on "Tumbling Dice," "Torn and Frayed," "I Just Want to See His Face," and "Shine a Light"
* Charlie Watts — drums
* Bill Wyman — bass guitar

Additional personnel

* Nicky Hopkins — piano
* Bobby Keys — saxophone and percussion on "Happy"
* Jim Price — trumpet, trombone, organ on "Torn and Frayed"
* Ian Stewart — piano on "Shake Your Hips," "Sweet Virginia" and "Stop Breaking Down"
* Jimmy Miller — drums on "Happy" and "Shine a Light," percussion on "Sweet Black Angel," "Loving Cup," "I Just Want to See His Face," and "All Down the Line"
* Bill Plummer — upright bass on "Rip This Joint," "Turd on the Run," "I Just Want to See His Face," and "All Down the Line"
* Billy Preston — piano and organ on "Shine a Light"
* Al Perkins — pedal steel guitar on "Torn and Frayed"
* Richard Washington — marimba on "Sweet Black Angel"
* Clydie King, Vanetta Fields — backing vocals on "Tumbling Dice," "I Just Want to See His Face," "Let It Loose," and "Shine a Light"
* Joe Green — backing vocals on "Let It Loose" and "Shine a Light"
* Jerry Kirkland — backing vocals on "I Just Want to See His Face" and "Shine a Light"
* Mac Rebennack, Shirley Goodman, Tami Lynn — backing vocals on "Let It Loose"
* Kathi McDonald — backing vocals on "All Down the Line"
* Lisa Fischer, Cindy Mizelle — backing vocals on bonus tracks
* David Campbell — string arrangement on "Following the River"

No comments: