Friday, February 17, 2012

A Different Kind of Truth by Van Halen

A Different Kind of Truth

1. "Tattoo" 4:44
2. "She's the Woman" 2:56
3. "You and Your Blues" 3:43
4. "China Town" 3:14
5. "Blood and Fire" 4:26
6. "Bullethead" 2:30
7. "As Is" 4:47
8. "Honeybabysweetiedoll" 3:46
9. "The Trouble with Never" 3:59
10. "Outta Space" 2:53
11. "Stay Frosty" 4:07
12. "Big River" 3:50
13. "Beats Workin'" 5:02
Total length:

DELUXE EDITION Includes 13-song CD + Bonus DVD featuring 3 BRAND NEW acoustic performance videos "The Downtown Sessions."
A Different Kind of Truth is Van Halen's first original studio album with singer David Lee Roth since the band's classic multi-platinum album 1984.

Formed in Los Angeles in 1974, Van Halen changed the rock and roll landscape forever with the release of their self-titled, 1978 debut album displaying unparalleled stage presence, revolutionary musicianship, and extraordinary songwriting abilities. With more than 75 million albums sold worldwide, the band's record of achievement is hard to top. Among a long list of awards, recognition and accolades, Van Halen joins an elite short list of two time Diamond Award honorees in the history of the music industry. Presented with two Diamond Award RIAA Certified Status' for their albums Van Halen and 1984, the band has produced a repertoire of hits that remain some of the strongest and most influential rock songs ever written that fans will admire for decades to come.

On their upcoming tour, fans can expect Van Halen to perform selections from A Different Kind Of Truth alongside songs from their arsenal of epic hits that include: "Eruption," "Running with the Devil," "Jamie's Cryin'," "You Really Got Me," "Ain't Talkin' 'Bout Love," "Everybody Wants Some," "Unchained," "And The Cradle Will Rock," "Beautiful Girls," "Mean Street," "Somebody Get Me A Doctor," "Jump," "Panama," "Hot For Teacher," "I'll Wait," and more from their classic albums Van Halen, Van Halen II, Women and Children First, Fair Warning, Diver Down and 1984.

Van Halen - who the Los Angeles Times recently called "a force of nature" and "one of the flat-out greatest rock bands on the planet".

Van Halen was inducted into the Rock And Roll Hall of Fame in March of 2007.

A Different Kind of Truth is the 12th studio album by American hard rock band Van Halen, scheduled for release on February 7, 2012 through Interscope Records. It is the band's first album of completely new material since 1998's Van Halen III, as well as the first since 1984's 1984 to feature David Lee Roth on lead vocals, and the first to feature Wolfgang Van Halen on bass guitar. It is Van Halen's first album on their new label Interscope Records.
Some of the songs are based on demos and unrecorded lyrics done by the band in the 1970's. For instance, "She's the Woman" was on the 1976 demo that warranted Van Halen a deal with Warner Bros. Records. The new version of this song (featuring new melody and lyrics, middle section and solo) was played in its entirety at the band's intimate press show at the Cafe Wha? on January 5, 2012.
A 30-second sample of the new single "Tattoo" was uploaded online on January 6, 2012.
90-second samples of "Blood and Fire", "Stay Frosty" and "China Town" were uploaded online on January 25 and 27, 2012.
A deluxe version of the album will be released, containing a bonus Acoustic DVD called The Downtown Sessions, which will contain acoustic versions of "Panama", "You and Your Blues (Intro)", "You and Your Blues" and "Beautiful Girls".
A Tour Collector's Edition vinyl album will be released. This double gatefold LP vinyl includes all thirteen songs on two LPs plus custom LP artwork.
The first single from the album, "Tattoo", was released on January 10, 2012. One day after its release to iTunes, it was the #1 selling rock song in the US, Canada, Finland and the Netherlands, while charting in Sweden, Belgium, Germany and the UK. It also received over two million YouTube hits in its first week of release.
As of January 23, 2012 "Tattoo" is ranked #1 on Billboard’s Hard Rock Singles chart, the #1 most played song at classic rock radio in its first week and #1 most added song at mainstream and active rock radio.
On January 29, 2012, 90-second samples for all thirteen songs off of A Different Kind of Truth were posted online.
The steam locomotive featured on the cover of the album is a New York Central Railroad Hudson.

No comments: