Wednesday, October 13, 2010

Road to Ruin The Ramones

Road to Ruin is the fourth studio album by the American punk rock band The Ramones. It was released on September 22, 1978 through Sire Records. It was the first Ramones album to feature new drummer Marky Ramone, replacing founding member Tommy Ramone.

This album shows a more "classic" pop sound as well as a shift to a more serious personality to the music, a theme that would remain in later albums, most notably 1980's End of the Century. The influence of 1960s girl groups is evident, as well as the influence of The Byrds on tracks including "Don't Come Close" and the cover of "Needles and Pins," originally by Jackie DeShannon and later a hit for The Searchers.

The album also contains the track "I Wanna Be Sedated", one of the band's most popular songs.

This is their first album with Marky Ramone on drums, after original drummer Tommy Ramone left due to fatigue from touring. However, Tommy (credited as his birth name, Tommy Erdelyi) stayed to produce Road to Ruin, as well as a brief comeback for 1984's Too Tough to Die.

The album was remastered and released by Rhino Records in June 19, 2001. It also featured bonus tracks, which included alternate versions and demos. Two of the bonus tracks, "Rock 'n' Roll High School (Ed Stasium version)" and "Blitzkrieg Bop/Teenage Lobotomy/California Sun/Pinhead/She’s the One (Live)," are from the soundtrack for Rock 'n' Roll High School.

"I'm Against It" was covered by Overkill on their album Coverkill.

The original LP release was pressed on transparent yellow vinyl.

Track listing

1. "I Just Want to Have Something to Do" (Joey Ramone) – 2:42
2. "I Wanted Everything" (Dee Dee Ramone) – 3:18
3. "Don't Come Close" (Dee Dee Ramone) – 2:44
4. "I Don't Want You" (Joey Ramone) – 2:26
5. "Needles & Pins" (Sonny Bono, Jack Nitzsche) – 2:21
6. "I'm Against It" (Joey Ramone, Johnny Ramone) – 2:07
7. "I Wanna Be Sedated" (Joey Ramone) – 2:29
8. "Go Mental" (Dee Dee Ramone) – 2:42
9. "Questioningly" (Dee Dee Ramone) – 3:22
10. "She's the One" (Joey Ramone) – 2:13
11. "Bad Brain" (Dee Dee Ramone) – 2:25
12. "It's a Long Way Back" (Dee Dee Ramone) – 2:20

2001 Expanded Edition CD (Warner Archives/Rhino) bonus tracks

13. "I Want You Around" (Ed Stasium version) (Joey Ramone) – 3:02
14. "Rock 'n' Roll High School" (Ed Stasium version) (Joey Ramone) – 2:20
* Tracks 13-14 first issued on Hey Ho! Let's Go: The Anthology, Rhino #75817 (7/20/99)
15. "Blitzkrieg Bop/Teenage Lobotomy/California Sun/Pinhead/She's the One" (Live) – 11:00
* From the original soundtrack album Rock 'n' Roll High School, Sire #6070 (4/79). Produced & Engineered by Ed Stadium. Remix Engineer: Joel Soifer
16. "Come Back, She Cried A.K.A. I Walk Out" (Demo) – 2:21
* Previously unreleased. Outtake from Road To Ruin sessions.
17. "Yea, Yea" (Demo) – 2:08
* First issued on All The Stuff (And More!) Volume 2, Sire #26618 (7/91). Produced by Tommy Erdelyi, written by Joey Ramone. Recorded during demo sessions for Pleasant Dreams.


* Joey Ramone - lead vocals
* Dee Dee Ramone - bass, backing vocals
* Johnny Ramone - guitar
* Marky Ramone - drums
* Jan Berry - organ on "Rock 'n' Roll High School"

No comments: