Wednesday, June 4, 2008

Dire Straits Brothers in Arms

Brothers in Arms is the fifth studio album by British rock band Dire Straits, in 1985. Brothers in Arms was one of the first albums to be directed at the CD market, being the first full digital recording (DDD) released, although not the first recording digitally recorded and mastered. It was also released on vinyl and cassette.

Brothers in Arms was the first album to sell one million copies in the CD format and to outsell its LP version.

All songs written by Mark Knopfler, except where indicated. The track lengths on the LP version differ from the lengths on the CD and cassette versions, due to the limitations of the medium. The full tracks would not all fit on one side of vinyl. (This was one of the first rock albums where the CD was longer than the LP.)

1. "So Far Away" – 5:12
2. "Money for Nothing" (Knopfler, Sting) – 8:26
3. "Walk of Life" – 4:12
4. "Your Latest Trick" – 6:33
5. "Why Worry" – 8:31
6. "Ride Across the River" – 6:58
7. "The Man's Too Strong" – 4:40
8. "One World" – 3:40
9. "Brothers in Arms" – 6:59

No comments: