Tuesday, May 13, 2008

The Moody Blues On the Threshold of a Dream

On the Threshold of a Dream is an album by The Moody Blues released on the Polydor record label in the USA and Deram in the UK. It was the last album to be released by the Moodies before they formed their own record label, Threshold. It was released in 1969, and re-released as a remaster in 1997. The album includes 13 tracks and has a total duration of 36:59 minutes.

Like the first two albums, On the Threshold of a Dream follows a concept. The album explores dreams, especially on the second side, which climaxes with the "Voyage" suite, inspired in part by Strauss' Also Sprach Zarathustra.
Side one

1. "In the Beginning" (Graeme Edge) – 2:08
2. "Lovely to See You" (Justin Hayward) – 2:34
3. "Dear Diary" (Ray Thomas) – 3:56
4. "Send Me No Wine" (John Lodge) – 2:21
5. "To Share Our Love" (Lodge) – 2:53
6. "So Deep Within You" (Mike Pinder) – 3:10

Side two

1. "Never Comes the Day" (Hayward) – 4:43
2. "Lazy Day" (Thomas) – 2:43
3. "Are You Sitting Comfortably?" (Hayward/Thomas) – 3:30
4. "The Dream" (Edge) – 0:57
5. "Have You Heard, Part 1" (Pinder) – 1:28
6. "The Voyage" (Pinder) – 4:10
7. "Have You Heard, Part 2" (Pinder) – 2:26

Bonus tracks
1. In The Beginning (Full Version)
2. So Deep Within You (Full Version)
3. Dear Diary (Alternate Mix)
4. Have You Heard (Original Take)
5. The Voyage (Original Take)
6. Lovely To See You (BBC Top Gear Session 18/2/69)
7. Send Me No Wine (BBC Top Gear Session 18/2/69)
8. So Deep Within You (BBC Tony Brandon Session - Mono 2/4/69)
9. Are You Sitting Comfortably (Mono Version)

Justin Hayward - vocals, guitar, cello
John Lodge - vocals, bass
Ray Thomas - vocals, harmonica, flute, tambourine
Graeme Edge - drums, percussion, vocals
Mike Pinder - vocals, mellotron, organ, cello

No comments: