Tuesday, May 13, 2008

Led Zeppelin

Led Zeppelin is the eponymous debut album of English hard rock band, Led Zeppelin. It was recorded in October 1968 at Olympic Studios in London and released on Atlantic Records on January 12, 1969. The album featured integral contributions from each of the group's four musicians and established Led Zeppelin's unique fusion of blues and rock. Led Zeppelin also created a large and devoted following for the band, with their unique heavy metal and psychedelic rock sound endearing them to a section of the counterculture on both sides of the Atlantic.

Side One

1. "Good Times Bad Times" (Jimmy Page, John Paul Jones, John Bonham) – 2:46
2. "Babe I'm Gonna Leave You" (Robert Plant, Page, Anne Bredon) – 6:41
3. "You Shook Me" (Willie Dixon, J. B. Lenoir) – 6:28
4. "Dazed and Confused" (Page) – 6:26

Side Two

1. "Your Time Is Gonna Come" (Page, Jones) – 4:34
2. "Black Mountain Side" (Page) – 2:14
3. "Communication Breakdown" (Page, Jones, Bonham) – 2:27
4. "I Can't Quit You Baby" (Dixon) – 4:42
5. "How Many More Times" (Page, Jones, Bonham) – 8:28 (listed as 3:30 on record sleeve deliberately by Jimmy Page in order to trick radio stations into playing the song.)

* Jimmy Page – acoustic, electric, and pedal steel guitar, backing vocals, producer
* Robert Plant – vocals, harmonica
* John Paul Jones – bass guitar, organ, keyboards, backing vocals
* John Bonham – drums, timpani, backing vocals

Additional personnel

* Viram Jasani – tabla on Black Mountain Side
* Chris Dreja – back liner photo
* George Hardie – cover design
* Glyn Johns – engineer, mixing
* Peter Grant – executive producer

No comments: