Tuesday, May 13, 2008

King Crimson In the Court of the Crimson King

In the Court of the Crimson King (an observation by King Crimson) is the 1969 debut album by the British progressive rock group King Crimson. The album reached #3 on the British charts. It continues to be a classic and has been a tremendous influence on other artists. The album is certified gold in the United States.

The album is generally considered by many to be the launching point of progressive rock where blues-oriented rock was mixed together with jazzy and European symphonic elements. The Who's Pete Townshend was quoted as calling the album "an uncanny masterpiece"

Side one

1. "21st Century Schizoid Man" (Fripp, McDonald, Lake, Giles, Sinfield) – 7:21
* "Mirrors"
2. "I Talk to the Wind" (McDonald, Sinfield) – 6:05
3. "Epitaph" (Fripp, McDonald, Lake, Giles, Sinfield) – 8:47
* "March for No Reason"
* "Tomorrow and Tomorrow"

* Robert Fripp – guitar
* Ian McDonald – flute, clarinet, saxophone, vibes, keyboards, mellotron, vocals
* Greg Lake – bass guitar, lead vocals
* Michael Giles – drums, percussion, vocals
* Peter Sinfield – words, illumination
* Barry Godber – cover illustrations

Side two

1. "Moonchild" (Fripp, McDonald, Lake, Giles, Sinfield) – 12:13
* "The Dream"
* "The Illusion"
2. "The Court of the Crimson King" (McDonald, Sinfield) – 9:25
* "The Return of the Fire Witch"
* "The Dance of the Puppets"

No comments: