Tuesday, May 6, 2008

Kanye West Graduation

Graduation is the third studio album by hip hop artist Kanye West, released on September 11, 2007. The title of the album follows the college theme of Kanye West's previous two albums, The College Dropout and Late Registration. The album artwork was designed by Takashi Murakami. The album won three Grammy Awards, including Best Rap Album. West thereby joins rapper Eminem as the only artists to have each of their first three albums win this award.

# Title Songwriter(s) Producer(s) Featured guest(s) Sample(s) Length
1 "Good Morning" Kanye West, Bernie Taupin & Elton John Kanye West

* Contains samples from "Someone Saved My Life Tonight" by Elton John
* Contains additional vocals by Connie Mitchell, Jay-Z (from "The Ruler's Back"), and Tony "Penafire" Williams

2 "Champion" Kanye West, Donald Fagen & Walter Becker Kanye West & Brian "Allday" Miller

* Contains elements from "Kid Charlemagne" as performed by Steely Dan
* Contains additional vocals by Connie Mitchell & Tony "Penafire" Williams

3 "Stronger" Kanye West, Edwin Birdsong, Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo[12] & Thomas Bangalter[12] Kanye West (additional programming by Timbaland)

* Contains a sample from "Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger" as performed by Daft Punk
* Contains master use of "Cola Bottle Baby" by Edwin Birdsong

4 "I Wonder" Kanye West & Labi Siffre Kanye West Labi Siffre

* Contains a sample from "My Song" as performed by Labi Siffre
* Contains drum samples from "Ambitionz Az a Ridah" as performed by 2-Pac
* Contains a verse from "I Got a Love" by Jin as performed by Kanye West

5 "Good Life" Kanye West, Aldrin Davis, Faheem Najm, James Ingram, Quincy Jones Kanye West & DJ Toomp, additional production by Mike Dean (additional drum programming by Timbaland) T-Pain

* Contains samples from "P.Y.T. (Pretty Young Thing)" as performed by Michael Jackson
* Contains backing vocals by John Legend & Ne-Yo
* Contains lyrics from "In da Club" as performed by 50 Cent

6 "Can't Tell Me Nothing" Kanye West & Aldrin Davis Kanye West & DJ Toomp

* Contains samples from "I Got Money" as performed by Young Jeezy featuring T.I.
* Contains additional vocals by Connie Mitchell
* Contains lyrics from "T.R.O.Y" as performed by CL Smooth

7 "Barry Bonds" Kanye West, Dominick Lamb, James Griggs, Felix Pappalardi, John Ventura, Leslie Weinstein & Norman Landsberg Nottz, co-produced by Kanye West Lil Wayne

* Contains a sample from "Long Red" as performed by Mountain

8 "Drunk and Hot Girls" Kanye West, H. Schuering, Irmin Schmidt, Jaki Liebezeit, Kenji Suzuki & Michael Karoli Kanye West, additional production by Jon Brion Mos Def

* Contains elements from "Sing Swan Song" as performed by Can
* Contains additional vocals by Tanya Herron

9 "Flashing Lights" Kanye West & Eric Hudson Kanye West & Eric Hudson Dwele

* Contains elements from "Little Child Runnin' Wild" by Curtis Mayfield
* Contains additional vocals by Connie Mitchell

10 "Everything I Am" Kanye West, Carlton Ridenhour, Eric Sadler, George Clinton, Hank Shocklee & Prince Phillip Mitchell Kanye West

* Contains elements from "If We Can't Be Lovers" by Prince Phillip Mitchell
* Contains elements from "Bring the Noise" by Public Enemy
* Contains additional vocals by Tony "Penafire" Williams

11 "The Glory" Kanye West, Dante Smith, Felix Pappalardi, John Ventura, Laura Nyro, Leslie Weinstein & Norman Landsberg Kanye West, co-produced by Gee Robertson & Patrick "Plain Pat" Reynolds

* Contains elements from "Save the Country" by Laura Nyro
* Contains a sample from "Long Red" by Mountain
* Contains background vocals by Jalil Williams, Jehireh Williams, John Legend & Mos Def
* Contains lyrics from "Award Tour" by A Tribe Called Quest

12 "Homecoming" Kanye West, Chris Martin & Warryn Campbell Kanye West & Warryn Campbell Chris Martin

* Contains lyrics from "I Used to Love H.E.R. by Common

13 "Big Brother" Kanye West & Aldrin Davis DJ Toomp 4:47
* "Good Night" (iTunes/Australian/Japan/UK bonus track) Kanye West, A. Daniels, J. Miller, A. Reid, E. Beckford & W. Maragh Kanye West, Jason T. Miller, Albert "Al Be Back" Daniels Al Be Back & Mos Def

* Contains elements of "Omaha Stylee" by 311
* Contains elements of "Wake The Town" by U-Roy
* Contains elements of "Nuff Man A Dead" by Supercat

* "Bittersweet Poetry" (Australian/iTunes/Japan pre-order bonus track) Kanye West & John Mayer Kanye West John Mayer

* Contains a sample from "Bittersweet" as performed by Chairmen of the Board
* Contains background vocals from Keyshia Cole

No comments: