Friday, May 2, 2008

Introducing... The Beatles

Introducing... The Beatles is the first Beatles album in the United States. Originally scheduled for a July 1963 release, the LP finally came out on 10 January 1964, mere days before Capitol's Meet the Beatles. It was the subject of much legal wrangling, but ultimately, Vee-Jay Records was permitted to sell the album until the fall of 1964, by which time it had sold more than 1.3 million copies.

1. "I Saw Her Standing There" (Paul McCartney counting "one, two, three, four" is omitted - recording starts with "four")
2. "Misery"
3. "Anna (Go to Him)" (Arthur Alexander)
4. "Chains" (Gerry Goffin, Carole King)
5. "Boys" (Luther Dixon, Wes Farrell)
6. "Love Me Do" ("Ask Me Why" on version two)

Side two

1. "P.S. I Love You" ("Please Please Me" on version two)
2. "Baby It's You" (Burt Bacharach, Mack David, Barney Williams)
3. "Do You Want to Know a Secret"
4. "A Taste of Honey" (Ric Marlow, Bobby Scott)
5. "There's a Place"
6. "Twist and Shout" (Phil Medley, Bert Russell)

No comments: