Tuesday, May 13, 2008

Grateful Dead Live/Dead

Live/Dead is the first official live album released by the San Francisco-based band Grateful Dead. It was recorded over a series of live concerts in early 1969 and released later in the year on November 10. At the time of its release, Robert Christgau wrote that parts of the album contained "the finest rock improvisation ever recorded." A landmark live album that captured the Grateful Dead's improvisations at their best – All Music Guide would write that "Few recordings have ever represented the essence of an artist in performance as faithfully as Live/Dead" – it is also the final album with keyboardist Tom Constanten.

In 2003, the album was ranked number 244 on Rolling Stone magazine's list of the 500 greatest albums of all time.

Side one

1. "Dark Star" (Grateful Dead, Hunter) – 23:18

Side two

1. "St. Stephen" (Hunter, Garcia, Lesh) – 6:31
2. "The Eleven" (Hunter, Lesh) – 9:18

Side three

1. "Turn On Your Love Light" (Scott, Malone) – 15:05

Side four

1. "Death Don't Have No Mercy" (Davis) – 10:28
2. "Feedback" (McGannahan Skjellyfetti) – 7:49
3. "And We Bid You Goodnight" (traditional arrangement) – 0:37

No comments: