Tuesday, May 13, 2008

Grand Funk Grand Funk Railroad

Grand Funk is Grand Funk Railroad's second studio album, and was released in December of 1969 by Capitol Records. It was produced by Terry Knight and engineered by Ken Hamann. This release (aka "The Red Album") was certifed by RIAA with a gold record award, the first for the group. It includes a cover of The Animals "Inside Looking Out" which is still a cornerstone of the band's live concerts today. Other key tracks include: "Got This Thing On The Move", "In Need", and "Paranoid" (which is not the Black Sabbath song). The inside spread photograph of the trio, for the original album release, was used for the now infamous, $100,000, block-long and several stories high, New York City's Times Square billboard ad for the album "Closer To Home" (1970).

1. "Got This Thing on the Move" – 4:38 (Farner)
2. "Please Don't Worry" – 4:19 (Brewer/Farner)
3. "High Falootin' Woman" – 3:00 (Farner)
4. "Mr. Limousine Driver" – 4:26 (Farner)
5. "In Need" – 7:52 (Farner)
6. "Winter and My Soul" – 6:38 (Farner)
7. "Paranoid" – 7:50 (Farner)
8. "Inside Looking Out" – 9:31 (J. Lomax, A. Lomax, E. Burdon, B. Chandler)

No comments: