Tuesday, May 13, 2008

Diana Ross Presents the Jackson 5

Diana Ross Presents the Jackson 5 was the debut album from Gary, Indiana-based soul family band The Jackson 5, released on the Motown label in December 1969. The Jackson 5's lead singer, a preteenage boy named Michael Jackson, and his older brothers Marlon, Jermaine, Tito, and Jackie, became pop successes within months of this album's release. Diana Ross Presents the Jackson 5's only single, "I Want You Back", became a number-one hit on the Billboard Hot 100 within weeks of the album's release.

The album title suggested that Motown star Diana Ross had discovered the group, as do the Ross-penned liner notes on the back cover. Ross' alleged discovering of the Jackson 5 was in fact part of Motown's marketing and promotions plan for the Jackson 5; Motown artists Bobby Taylor and Gladys Knight were the ones who had actually discovered the Jacksons. Ross did, however, introduce the group to the public both in concert and on television.

1. "Zip-A-Dee-Doo-Dah" (Ray Gilbert, Allie Wrubel) - 3:17
2. "Nobody" (The Corporation) - 2:53
3. "I Want You Back" (The Corporation) - 3:03
4. "Can You Remember" (Thom Bell, William Hart) - 3:10
5. "Standing in the Shadows of Love" (Holland-Dozier-Holland) - 4:05
6. "You've Changed" (Gordon Keith) - 3:16

Side B

1. "My Cherie Amour" (Stevie Wonder, Sylvia Moy, Hank Cosby) - 3:44
2. "Who's Lovin' You" (Smokey Robinson) - 4:05
3. "Chained" (Frank Wilson) - 2:54
4. "(I Know) I'm Losing You" (Norman Whitfield, Eddie Holland, Cornelius Grant) - 2:16
5. "Stand!" (Sylvester Stewart) - 2:30
6. "Born to Love You" (Ivy Jo Hunter, William "Mickey" Stevenson) - 2:38

No comments: