Thursday, May 8, 2008

Deep Purple Made in Japan

Made in Japan is a live album by English rock band Deep Purple, released in December 1972 in all of Europe and in May of 1973 in the US. The album was recorded live over three nights during 15-17 August 1972 in Osaka and at Budokan in Tokyo, Japan, hence the name of the album. The tracks mostly come from their studio effort, Machine Head. The three concerts recorded were later released as Live in Japan 3-CD box set (1993). According to the liner notes for that set, unlike many live albums, there are no overdubs or studio additions to the original album.

The remastered anniversary edition, issued in 1998, came with an extra CD of encores played on the tour in Japan.

CD 1: Made In Japan

1. "Highway Star" - 6:43
2. "Child in Time" - 12:17
3. "Smoke on the Water" - 7:36
4. "The Mule" - 9:28
* Someone has edited out "Ian Paice on the drums, yes!" etc.
5. "Strange Kind of Woman" - 9:52
6. "Lazy" - 10:27
7. "Space Truckin'" - 19:54

CD 2: The Encores

1. "Black Night" - 6:17
* Encore recorded in Tokyo on August 17th. An edited version had previously appeared on single B sides.
2. "Speed King" - 7:25
* Encore recorded in Tokyo on August 17th. Previously unreleased.
3. "Lucille" (Albert Collins, Little Richard) - 8:03
* Encore recorded in Osaka on August 16th. Previously unreleased.

No comments: