Thursday, May 8, 2008

Deep Purple Machine Head

Machine Head is the sixth Deep Purple studio album. It was recorded at the Grand Hotel Montreux, Switzerland in December 1971 with the Rolling Stones Mobile Studio, and released in May 1972.

The album is often cited as being very influential in the development of the heavy metal music genre. It is Deep Purple's most successful recording, topping the charts in several countries following its release. In 2001 Q magazine named it as one of the 50 Heaviest Albums of All Time.

Machine Head is the subject of one of the Classic Albums series of documentaries about the making of famous albums. Machine Head was released on the multichannel formats Super Audio CD (2003) and DVD-Audio (2001).

All songs written by Ritchie Blackmore, Ian Gillan, Roger Glover, Jon Lord and Ian Paice.

1. "Highway Star" – 6:05
2. "Maybe I'm a Leo" – 4:51
3. "Pictures of Home" – 5:03
4. "Never Before" – 3:56
5. "Smoke on the Water" – 5:40
6. "Lazy" – 7:19
7. "Space Truckin'" – 4:31

* Ritchie Blackmore - guitar
* Ian Gillan - vocals, harmonica
* Roger Glover - bass
* Jon Lord - piano, organ, keyboards
* Ian Paice - drums

No comments: