Friday, May 2, 2008

The Beatles' Second Album

The Beatles' Second Album is the The Beatles' second Capitol Records release. It was their third in the United States counting Introducing... The Beatles, released on Vee-Jay Records.

Songs for this album were compiled from four different UK releases. Included were the five remaining tracks from the group's second British LP With the Beatles. Those songs were left off of the previous Capitol album Meet the Beatles!. Also included were "Thank You Girl" (the B-side to the British single "From Me to You"), the single "She Loves You" / "I'll Get You", "You Can't Do That" from the A Hard Day's Night soundtrack in the UK, and two new songs, "Long Tall Sally" and "I Call Your Name," both released a month later in the UK on the Long Tall Sally EP.

The Beatles' Second Album went to number one on the album charts in the U.S., knocking off Meet the Beatles!, the first time an artist replaced itself at number one on the album charts.

1. "Roll Over Beethoven" (Chuck Berry)
2. "Thank You Girl"
3. "You Really Got a Hold on Me" (Smokey Robinson)
4. "Devil in Her Heart" (Richard Drapkin)
5. "Money (That's What I Want)" (Janie Bradford, Berry Gordy, Jr.)
6. "You Can't Do That"

Side two

1. "Long Tall Sally" (Robert Blackwell, Enotris Johnson, Little Richard)
2. "I Call Your Name"
3. "Please Mr. Postman" (Robert Bateman, Georgia Dobbins, Garrett, Fred Gorman, Brian Holland)
4. "I'll Get You"
5. "She Loves You"

No comments: