Tuesday, May 13, 2008

Aoxomoxoa The Grateful Dead

Aoxomoxoa is the third studio album by the Grateful Dead. It was originally titled Earthquake Country. Many Deadheads consider this era of the Dead to be the experimental apex of the band's history. It is also the first album with Tom Constanten as an official member of the band. Rolling Stone, upon reviewing the album, mentioned that "no other music sustains a lifestyle so delicate and loving and lifelike."

The title of the album is a palindrome created by cover artist Rick Griffin and lyricist Robert Hunter. According to the audio version of the Rock Scully memoir, Living with the Dead (read by the author and former Dead co-manager himself), the title is pronounced "OX-OH-MOX-OH-AH".

In 1991 Rolling Stone selected Aoxomoxoa as having the eighth best album cover of all time.

All songs written by Garcia and Hunter unless otherwise noted.

1. "St. Stephen" (Garcia, Hunter, Lesh) – 4:26
2. "Dupree's Diamond Blues" (Hunter, Lesh) – 3:32
3. "Rosemary" – 1:58
4. "Doin' That Rag" – 4:41
5. "Mountains of the Moon" – 4:02
6. "China Cat Sunflower" – 3:40
7. "What's Become of the Baby" – 8:12
8. "Cosmic Charlie" – 5:29

2003 Reissue Bonus Tracks

1. "Clementine Jam" (Grateful Dead) – 10:46
2. "Nobody's Spoonful Jam" (Grateful Dead) – 10:04
3. "The Eleven Jam" (Grateful Dead) – 15:00
4. "Cosmic Charlie" – 6:47

* Jerry Garcia - guitars, vocals
* Bob Weir - guitars, vocals
* Tom Constanten - keyboards
* Ron "Pigpen" McKernan - organ
* Phil Lesh - basses, vocals
* Bill Kreutzmann - percussion
* Mickey Hart - percussion

No comments: