Friday, May 9, 2008

The Allman Brothers Band Idlewild South

Idlewild South is the second album of The Allman Brothers Band, released in 1970.

Unlike the band's debut album, Idlewild South enjoyed some popular success as well as critical enthusiasm, mostly due to what Rolling Stone magazine called "briefer, tighter, less 'heavy' numbers" which were more radio-friendly. The two most prominent of these were "Midnight Rider" and "Revival", the latter of which, in conjunction with the instrumental "In Memory of Elizabeth Reed" (which would become one of the Allmans' most famed concert numbers), foreshadowed the impact of Dickey Betts' songwriting ability upon the band.

The album was named after a ranch they frequently visited in Georgia, whose name in turn was originally a reference to New York City's Idlewild Airport.

"Midnight Rider" has been featured in soundtracks for The Devil's Rejects and Unbreakable. Gregg Allman also rerecorded the song for his solo album Laid Back

1. "Revival" (Dickey Betts) – 4:05
2. "Don't Keep Me Wonderin'" (Gregg Allman) – 3:31
3. "Midnight Rider" (Gregg Allman) – 2:59
4. "In Memory of Elizabeth Reed" (Dickey Betts) – 6:56
5. "(I'm Your) Hoochie Coochie Man" (Willie Dixon) – 4:57
6. "Please Call Home" (Gregg Allman) – 4:02
7. "Leave My Blues at Home" (Gregg Allman) – 4:17

* Gregg Allman (vocals, piano, organ)
* Duane Allman (lead, slide, and acoustic guitar)
* Dickey Betts (lead guitar)
* Berry Oakley (bass guitar, vocals on "Hoochie Coochie Man", and harmony vocals on "Midnight Rider")
* Butch Trucks (drums)
* Jai Johnny "Jaimoe" Johanson (drums, congas)
* guest Thom "Ace" Doucette (harmonica and tambourine)

No comments: