Friday, April 18, 2008

Stevie Wonder Innervisions

Innervisions is an album by Stevie Wonder, released on Tamla/Motown on August 3, 1973. It was the third of five consecutive albums widely hailed as his "classic period", along with Music of My Mind, Talking Book, Fulfillingness' First Finale, and Songs in the Key of Life. The nine tracks that make up Innervisions encompass a wide range of themes and issues: from drug references in "Too High" and "Don't You Worry 'Bout a Thing"; social anger in "Higher Ground" and "Living for the City"; to love in the ballads "All in Love is Fair" and "Golden Lady." The album's closer, "He's Misstra Know It All," is a scathing attack on then-US President Richard Nixon, similar to his song "You Haven't Done Nothin'".

Side One

1. "Too High" – 4:37
2. "Visions" – 5:17
3. "Living for the City" – 7:26
4. "Golden Lady" – 5:00

Side Two

1. "Higher Ground" – 3:54
2. "Jesus Children of America" – 4:04
3. "All in Love Is Fair" – 3:45
4. "Don't You Worry 'bout a Thing" – 4:55
5. "He's Misstra Know It All" – 6:06

No comments: