Friday, April 18, 2008

Lou Reed Transformer

Transformer is Lou Reed's breakthrough second solo album, released in December 1972. Unlike its predecessor Lou Reed, eight songs of which were leftovers from his Velvet Underground days, this album contains mainly new material. However, there are still a few songs that date from his VU days--Velvet Underground-recorded versions of "Andy's Chest" and "Satellite of Love" surfaced in 1985 and 1995, respectively; and "New York Telephone Conversation" and "I'm So Free" are known to have been played during the Velvets' run at Max's Kansas City in the summer of 1970.

Transformer was produced by David Bowie and Mick Ronson, who had been strongly influenced by Reed's work with the Velvet Underground. The album features some of Reed's best-known songs such as "Walk on the Wild Side", "Perfect Day" and "Satellite of Love", and made him an international star in his own right.

Side one

1. "Vicious" – 2:58
2. "Andy's Chest" – 3:20
3. "Perfect Day" – 3:46
4. "Hangin' 'Round" – 3:35
5. "Walk on the Wild Side" – 4:15

Side two

1. "Make Up" – 3:00
2. "Satellite of Love" – 3:42
3. "Wagon Wheel" – 3:19
4. "New York Telephone Conversation" – 1:33
5. "I'm So Free" – 3:09
6. "Goodnight Ladies" – 4:21

2002 re-release bonus tracks

1. "Hangin' Round" (acoustic demo) – 3:57
2. "Perfect Day" (acoustic demo) – 4:50

No comments: