Friday, April 18, 2008

Little Feat Sailin Shoes

Sailin' Shoes was the second studio album by the American rock band Little Feat, released in 1972. It is notable for several reasons.

First, it introduced the work of Neon Park to the group, with his design of a sailing shoe of a cake swinging on a tree swing that adorned the front cover, which seems to be an allusion to The Swing by painter Jean-Honoré Fragonard. Second, it was a more refined album than predecessor, signaling a shift from that album into the next. Third, it marked the last album original bassist Roy Estrada appeared on.

Highlighted by a reworked group version of "Willin'", the track that had led Frank Zappa to sack guitarist and vocalist Lowell George from The Mothers of Invention, it also featured such enduring tracks as "A Apolitical Blues", "Easy To Slip" and the title track, all by guitarist and lead vocalist Lowell George, the second co-written with Martin Kibbee (a.k.a. Fred Martin), a former bandmate (The Factory), and the first appearance of the "George/Martin" credit on a Little Feat record.

1. "Easy To Slip" (George, Martin) – 3:22
2. "Cold Cold Cold" (George) – 4:01
3. "Trouble" (George) – 2:19
4. "Tripe Face Boogie" (Hayward, Payne) – 3:16
5. "Willin'" (George) – 2:57
6. "A Apolitical Blues" (George) – 3:28
7. "Sailin' Shoes" (George) – 2:53
8. "Teenage Nervous Breakdown" (George) – 2:13
9. "Got No Shadow" (Payne) – 5:08
10. "Cat Fever" (Payne) – 4:37
11. "Texas Rose Cafe" (George) – 3:42

No comments: