Friday, April 11, 2008

Dave Matthews Band

Dave Matthews Band (also known by the acronym DMB) is a United States-based rock band, originally formed in Charlottesville, Virginia, in 1991 by singer, songwriter, and guitarist Dave Matthews. Other band members include saxophonist LeRoi Moore, bassist Stefan Lessard, electric violinist Boyd Tinsley and drummer Carter Beauford. Since 1998, the band has performed most of their shows with keyboardist Butch Taylor who, while not officially named a member of the band, is a fixture on stage. For 2006 and 2007, the band added trumpet player Rashawn Ross — most noted as the live trumpet player for Soulive — to the stage. It is not yet known if his presence will be permanent. Moore, Beauford, Ross, Tinsley and Taylor also perform backing vocals.

According to RIAA, Dave Matthews Band has sold over 31 million units in the US alone, putting them in the Top 100 Highest Selling Music Acts of all time.

No comments: